These Are Not S’mores

Image

I Love my mom for many reasons. Most recently, I love her for teaching me that if you zap a date in the microwave, it turns all soft and syrupy. Dates are pretty magical already, so adding the warmth factor has brought a whole new dimension to one of my favorite treats. And then Mom told me that she puts them in between two graham crackers to make “S’mores.”

“Oh, so you add chocolate?” I ask. Nope. “Marshmallow?” No. I also love my Mom for her inventiveness.

The warm dates between two graham crackers were awesome, but I couldn’t resist adding ice cream for this super easy and super delicious recipe:

1. Place two graham cracker halves on a plate. Place two dates on each half (find the largest dates in the box of course!).
2. Microwave on high for 20 seconds.
3. Add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of the dates.
4. Top with the other half of the graham cracker and enjoy! (You’ll need a napkin)

This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These Are Not S’mores

  1. Myrna says:

    looks from a food network magazine! “Bon appetit”..or “Gourmet”

Leave a Reply

